MSP 50 Celebration

MSP50 logo

In 2018, Rutgers Law School celebrated the 50th anniversary of MSP. Nearly 700 Rutgers Law School alumni, students, faculty, and staff returned to Newark on April 14 to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the school’s pioneering Minority Student Program.

Among those attending the celebration were some of the program’s most notable graduates – U.S. Senator Robert Menendez, Wade Henderson, the former president and CEO of The Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights, N.J. State Senator Nia Gill (D-Essex), N.J. Assemblywoman Annette Quijano (D-Union), current and former Superior Court Appellate Division judges, Assignment judges and trial judges, along with leaders in business, public service, civil rights, government, and private practice.

Our History and Our Path Forward

To make a donation to the Rutgers Law School Minority Student Program, click on this Donation Link.  In the box marked "Other" write in: Minority Student Program Alumni Endowment Fund, Account 600000.

MSP is a nationally acclaimed and highly successful post-admissions program that serves students of any race or ethnicity who are members of groups that are underrepresented in the legal profession, and who have faced discrimination or overcome social and economic hardships. The program takes a proactive approach to help students to succeed in law school by offering legal skills development, academic support, alumni mentoring and networking, internships and other opportunities.

This program has been a leading force in diversifying both legal education and the legal profession. Originally geared toward students of color, it is now open to any student who can demonstrate a history of socioeconomic or educational disadvantage.

Marcia Wilson Brown ‘94, Vice Chancellor for External and Governmental Relations at Rutgers University-Newark and former MSP Dean, wrote a poem commemorating the 32nd anniversary of the Minority Student Program (MSP) in 2000, which is reprinted below.

MSP50 News

In the lead-up to the 50th anniversary of the Minority Student Program, Faculty MSP Chair David Troutt conducted the first of three charrettes or focus groups with representatives of alumni drawn from the years 1971 through 1985. 

Standing: Hon. Alberto Rivas '85, Yvonne Segars '84, David Harris '79, Margarita Echevarria '77, Felipe Chavana '76, Patricia Weston Rivera  '78, Alan Dexter Bowman '76, Norman Epting '79, Hon. Thomas W. Sumners, Jr. '84. Seated: Dean Ronald K. Chen '83, Hon. Sue Pai Yang '84, MSP Dean Yvette Bravo-Weber.