If you would like to get involved or volunteer with the Alumni Association, please email rslnaapresident@gmail.com.

Learn about the NYC chapter of the Alumni Association.

The Rutgers School of Law–Newark Alumni Association is a separate 501(c)(3) tax-exempt organization and a major resource for the law school. The mission of the association is to strengthen relationships among alumni and between alumni and the Law School community, and to advance the ideals, reputation, and educational goals of Rutgers Law School.

The association’s major event and fundraiser is the Annual Alumni Recognition Gala held in the fall; the 2018 gala was held on November 1, 2018. At this event we honor distinguished alumnae/i and present the Fannie Bear Besser Award for Public Service. At the dinner the association awards a scholarship to a deserving and promising student, in addition to the Fannie Bear Besser Scholarship for Public Service. Click here for a list of Distinguished Alumni Award recipients and here for a list of Fannie Bear Besser Award recipients. The recipeints for the 2018 Distinguished Alumni/ae Awards are Okianer Christian Dark '79, Dennis J. Drasco ’73, and Hon. Barry Ted Moskowitz ’75. The recipient of the 2018 Fannie Bear Besser Award For Public Service is Hon. Mary Catherine Cuff ’73. This year's gala is Wednesday, October 30th, 2019 at Maplewood Country Club, located across from Maplewood Train Station. Join us at 6 PM for an extended cocktail hour with silent auction followed by a sit down dinner and awards presentation. More information can be found here.

Proceeds from the Annual Alumni Recognition Dinner and your direct donations enable us to sponsor the annual Weintraub Lecture, the law school reception at the New Jersey State Bar Association annual meeting, and other alumni networking events in New York and New Jersey. The Alumni Association also runs a Mentoring Program, and recognizes student achievement at graduation with the Justice Henry E. Ackerson, Jr. Prize, the Alumni Senior Prize, and the Eli Jarmel Memorial Prize.

Volunteers are the key to success of the Alumni Association. If you would like to get involved, please contact the president. 

For students seeking funding from the Alumni Association, please fill out the funding request form.

The policies and procedures of the Rutgers School of Law–Newark Alumni Association can be found in the bylaws. A separate protocol for establishing regional chapters, pursuant to the bylaws, can be found here. All Rutgers Law School graduates from Newark are automatically members of the Alumni Association. There are no membership dues, although contributions are vital to support programs and events sponsored by the Alumni Association.

Alumni Association Officers
President Joseph Linares '14
Immediate Past President Maritza Rodriguez ‘11
President Elect Mark Makhail ‘13
Vice President Naomi D. Barrowclough '10
Secretary Lisa Brown '03
Treasurer Xiaochen Sun ‘11


Board Trustees
Lorraine A. Abraham ‘74 Rosemary Alito ‘78
Osato F. Chitou ‘10 Margarita Echevarria ‘77
Patrick C. English ‘78 Kenneth W. Franklin ‘16
David S. Garber ‘88 Robert S. Goldsmith ‘77
Ruby T. Hope ‘98 Evelyn Inya-Agha ‘10
M. Elaine Jacoby ‘75 Roktim Kaushik ‘11
Jessica Kitson '02 Marissa Koblitz Kingman ‘14
Hon. Harriet Farber Klein (Ret.) ‘73 Keith J. Miller ‘93
Zaara Bajwa Nazir ‘11 Adalgiza A. Núñez ‘08
Bertram Okpokwasili ‘08 Michael J. Plata ‘02
Robert W. Ratish ‘08 Teresa Rodriguez McPherson ‘97
Barbara A. Schweiger ‘98 Aaron WIlliams '10
T. Nicole Williams-Parks ‘14  


    2019 - 2020 Meeting Dates

    (All meetings take place at 6pm in the Berson Boardroom unless otherwise noted)
    Monday, August 12, 2019
    Monday, September 16, 2019
    Tuesday, November 12, 2019
    Monday, January 13, 2020 (Post-Holiday Board Dinner)
    Tuesday, February 11, 2020
    Tuesday, March 10, 2020
    Tuesday, April 21, 2020 (Joint Meeting with Camden)
    Tuesday, June 16, 2020 (Annual Meeting)